Alternatives to Breed Specific Legislation (BSL)

Posted on Updated on

I can personally vouch for bully breeds… It’s training or lack thereof on the part of the OWNER that ends up causing problems and the dogs are the ones who pay for it.

Kama ♥'s Agility

I do not own a Pit Bull, Rottweiler, German Shepherd, Doberman Pinscher, or any other breed victimized by Breed Specific Legislation. So why am I writing this post? This post is not inspired by my own dogs, but rather by the dogs of my friends and students who I know and love, and who I feel for when they voice their fears of Breed Specific Legislation.

Chipper - Bully Ambassador Photo Credit:  https://www.facebook.com/chipperbullyambassador Chipper, a friend’s Pittie MIx. Photo credit: https://www.facebook.com/chipperbullyambassador

What is Breed Specific Legislation? Breed Specific Legislation or BSL is a law or series of laws regulating or even banning certain breeds deemed “dangerous” in certain cities, counties, or states. What makes a breed dangerous? Put simply, bites resulting in serious injuries or death. But, if we look at this concept more in depth, we can conclude that poor breeding and/or training are actually the primary factors in what makes a dog dangerous. Unfortunately, a…

View original post 464 more words

